General Information
The Commission
News for Seneca County Veterans
Post Events and News
Ohio Veterans News

VA Benefits -
   • Medical Care
   • Service Connected       Compensation
   • Non-Service      Connected Pension
   • Family Member      Benefits
   • Secret” VA Benefit
   • Rate Tables

Ohio Benefits -
   • Ohio War Orphan      Scholarship
   • MIRF
   • Persian Gulf Bonus
   • Other Benefits

Financial Assistance
Office Staff

The Commission

The Seneca County Veterans Service Commission is a five member board appointed under the provisions of Title 59 of the Ohio Revised Code.  Each member is appointed by the Judge of the Court of Common Pleas of Seneca County for a term of five years.  Each is appointed to represent a specific veterans organization – in our county, currently  The American Legion, AMVETS, Veterans of Foreign Wars, Vietnam Veterans of America, and one at large member.  Even though their appointment is from a specific organization, they represent all Seneca County Veterans and their families.

The Commisison oversees the operation of the Seneca County Veterans Service Office, and is responsible to ensure that veterans and their eligible family members receive all benefits – federal, state, and local – to which they may be entitled.

Currently, the commission is comprised of the following members:


Arden L. “Skip” Craun 
The American Legion

Skip served in the US Army from 1968 to 1971 and is a Vietnam veteran.  He has served on the commission since January, 2010


David A. Young
Vietnam Veterans of America

David served in the US Army from 1967 to 1969 and is a Vietnam veteran.  He has served on the commission since 1993. 


Rex Mellott

Rex is a US Navy Blue Water Vietnam veteran serving from 1968-1972. His appointment began on July 1, 2016.


Wynn Schubach
Veterans of Foreign Wars

He served in the United States Marine Corps from 1963-1967 and is a Vietnam veteran. His appointment began in January 2016.


Peter "Mike" RIngle
At Large

Mike served in the United States Army from 1966 to 1969 and is a Vietnam veteran. He was appointed in November 2010.